I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Karbi Anglong District

District Administration::Karbi Anglong District

  • The Karbi Anglong district is one of the Autonomous hill district of Assam constituted under the provision of Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India. As such the pattern of administration is somewhat different from that of the plains district of Assam. There is an Autonomous Council in the district

    constituted under the provision of the said schedule   namely Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) and almost all the development departments are under the administrative control of the Autonomous Council. The Karbi Anglong district consist of 2(two) Sub-Divisions out of which one is Civil  Sub-Division namely Bokajan with its headquarters at Bokajan where the Sub-Divisional Officer(Civil) functions as the Sub-Divisional head. The remaining one is Diphu Sadar Sub-Division with its headquarters at Diphu.

    Like the plains district the Deputy Commissioner of the Karbi Anglong District with its headquarters at Diphu is the head of the district and the maintenance of law and order in the district is his primary responsibility including administration of justice till separation of Judiciary w.e.f. 12.08.2017. He is the District Magistrate and had functioned as the District and Session Judge of the district up to 12.08.2017. He is also the District Election Officer. Further he has to function as Returning Officer for the   conduct of Elections to 3-Autonomous District (ST) Parliamentary Constituency and 18-Howraghat(ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency & 19-Diphu(ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency. There are few number of subordinate officers like Addl. Deputy   Commissioner, Assistant Commissioner, and Election Officer under Deputy Commissioner who help him in the administration work.
    The Deputy Commissioner is also helped by a Police force headed by a Superintendent of Police in the maintenance of law and order in the district and in the prevention and detection of crimes.

    1. District Headquarter: - Diphu.
    2. Sub-Division :-   Two
    i.  Diphu (Sadar) Sub-Division, H.Q.-Diphu.
    ii. Bokajan (Civil) Sub-Division, H.Q-Bokajan.
    iii.Howraghat (Civil Sub-division.
    However the Howraghat subdivision was also declared as a Civil subdivision with HQ at Howraghat vide No. GAG (B) 27/2005/235, Dtd. Dispur the 25-Jan-2016, but it is yet to be functional.
    3.Name of the Present Deputy Commissioner :- Sri Ng. Chandra Dhwaj Singha, ACS
    Name of the present Superintendent of Police :- Sri Debojit Deuri, APS
    Name of the Addl. Deputy Commissioner :
    i. Sri Partha Sarathi Jahari, ACS

    ii. Sri Rajeshan Terang, ACS

    Name of the Officers of Bokajan Sub-Division:
    i. ADC & I/C  SDO (Civil) : Sri Dilip Terang, ACS